Adoption Part 1

After the adoption, I was more distant than normal. I had friends, but they were different than the friends the rest of my siblings had and they were not people my adoptive parents would’ve liked me to hang out with. I was on the swim team during the summer and I learned butterfly and that was my main stroke for the rest of my swimming career. My sister was held back in 5th grade and I moved onto middle school alone. This was something I wasn’t used to. I had a lot going on. the end of 5th grade was the first time I was sexually harassed by an older gentleman, lets call him Frank. Frank was someone I really trusted, so when this happened I was scared, I heard about rape and what happens to people who tell someone what is going on, so I stayed quiet. This was the worst mistake of my life, but this is another blog story. For now, I will talk about my education. In middle school, I was in the Bilingual G.A.T.E. Program and I was an A/B student. I ran track and did shot put in 7th Grade. I found out I was asthmatic that year due to sprinting 400 m when that was something I didn’t train for (we were racing boys, I couldn’t let them win by much). We lost to the guys by 50 m when we were almost 300 m behind when I started, so I think we did well. The G.A.T.E. Program wasn’t very tough, but it was a lot of work. I got after school detention once, and it was because my adoptive mother was friends with one of the teachers and told her I had lied about homework and so I had to write a list of 10 words and their definitions 50 times each in one night… so 500 sentences in one night as a 7th grader, it didn’t happen. What my mother didn’t know was that I was friends with the monitors because I never got in trouble and I was always near a monitor in case something happened. The monitor that was supposed to take me to after school detention let me go home because he didn’t feel it was fair and took it off the school record. I got my first boyfriend, Jonathan, when I was ending 6th and going into 7th and I was with him for about 6 months. He was in the English G.A.T.E Program, so it was nice to know him.  My adoptive mother made me break up with him and I thought that we would be able to fake the break up, but it turns out that he was just using me, so it didn’t happen. I got depressed because I didn’t like to be used and there was a lot going on, so I started to cut my wrists without anyone knowing. I was a part of the orchestra and went to Disneyland with the advanced orchestra 2 years in a row, and I played the bass one year and the viola another. I got to go to Honors Orchestra 2 times as well, once with the bass, and once with the viola. The last year of middle school was the best and the worst year because I got with a guy I really liked and his sister was in my class and he was 1 year younger. He was really nice, but he believed everything his sister told him (i.e. that I cheated on him, that I was a liar, etc.) none of which was true. and a friend of hers liked him. The cutting never stopped, but I know when he broke up with me and I knew the reason why, I was so upset that I cut my wrist in the class in front of one of the teachers and he didn’t do anything about it, which made me feel worse. Also at the end of 8th grade, we found 2 tumors, one on my wrist and one in my eye, both turned out benign, but it was hard to deal with. We were also getting ready to move, houses that summer, so it was a very busy time for me.  I went to Cholla High Magnet School and I was a part of the International Baccalaureate Program (IB). The first year, I met my best friend, Cameron, which is interesting because I was terrified of him when I met him. We were in the same English class and he was scarier than anyone there, but that only makes sense because he was different than anyone else. I was an A/B student, and eventually became a straight A student for 2 years. I was on the Cholla Swim team all 4 years, 2 of them I was team Captain for the girls and 1 year I was Captain for both boys and girls. I went to State 2 times and qualified 3 times. I wrestled my first year, but got injured and wasn’t allowed to do any contact sports. I graduated 2nd in my class with a 4.09 GPA and was the only person to do a speech in Spanish. I now go to the University of Arizona as a double major in Africana Studies and Spanish. I am looking forward to a great college career. My plan is to be either a Prosecutor or a Lawyer for the parents who get their child taken away, I believe every parent deserves a fresh start, even if they don’t seem like they will change.

 

Leave a Reply

